In Which More Footnotes Are Despoiled

A blue and purple butterfly doodled across a page of footnotes in a vintage textbook.
Footnotes to “Virgil and Other Latin Poets”, Pitt pen.

Still messing with Virgil.  I rescued this book from an overenthusiastic destash with the intent of cutting it up for pages, which I may still do.  (Lots of neat illustrations.)  But I discovered it’s also really fun to doodle in.  Drawing directly over text is something I hadn’t done before, and the paper is super smooth, so Pitt pens like it quite a lot.  Hence a wonky butterfly.

And then I did this:

A page mostly covered with black ink.  The remaining words are connected with white curving lines and read: "The wind could not lie, and the fountain overflowed with change."
Found poetry, Pitt pen and white gel pen.

I splurged yesterday on a Big Brush Pitt pen, explicitly for this purpose — don’t want to wear out my regular black brush tip on heavy-duty inking!

2 thoughts on “In Which More Footnotes Are Despoiled

  1. I love finding old books with that creamy-soft paper that just begs to be art-ed on. And I love what you are doing with yours! That found poetry page is great; the effect for the Pitt pen blacking out the background is a nice balance of “not distracting from the found poem” and “still legible enough to enjoy the texture of it as it’s own layer”.

    Saw some Prismacolor markers at Scrap Exchange yesterday and thought of you, but wasn’t sure if they were the right ones. They have a whole bunch of gently used craft supplies donated recently, I had a blast browsing the rubber stamps and assort other goodies. Gotta do a blog post about my finds soon, but right now I’m going to take advantage of a rare hour of empty houseness and make myself some beads.

    1. Thanks! Yeah, I had to go over it twice to get it even that dark.

      There is no such thing as “the wrong Prismacolors”. ;) I eagerly await your swag report!

Leave a Reply

